Why Choose a Security Industry Authority Approved Contractor?

What does SIA mean?

 SIA is an acronym for the Security Industry Authority – a national organisation responsible for regulating the private security industry. An independent body who report to the Home Secretary, their remit covers the whole of the United Kingdom.

What do the SIA do?

 The SIA have two main duties. The first is the compulsory licensing of individuals who undertake certain activities within the private security industry. The second is to manage their Approved Contractor Scheme (ACS) – a scheme measuring private security suppliers against independently assessed criteria.

What is the Approved Contractor Scheme?

The ACS is a set of operational and performance standards for those who operate in private security. Organisations who meet the standards set out by the scheme are awarded Approved Contractor status – independent proof of their commitment to quality.

A voluntary scheme, figures from February 2019 show that just 856 private security suppliers in the UK have been awarded Approved Contractor status.

What are the benefits of using an Approved Contractor?

SIA Approved Contractors, like KeyPlus, have demonstrated their commitment to providing the very best customer service to their clients, as well as the compulsory licensing of their staff. The award gives clients confidence that their chosen supplier has been extensively assessed in terms of quality and best practice.

Proud to be part of the ACS, we have scored above and beyond the required standard for the award, increasing our score for the 5thyear running.

Want to find out more about our Security Industry Approved services? Call 0800 783 1025 or fill in your details here for a no-obligation quote.


More News